A recent court hearing declared Nawaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz guilty in the Avenfield reference leading to 10 and 7 years of imprisonment respectively. To accept their fate, the two are meant to arrive at Lahore airport today at 9:00 pm. Needless to say; this has spurred a lot of political unrest across the country; especially in Punjab.

Here is a brief but thorough recap of Nawaz Sharif’s political career:

1976 – Nawaz Sharif officially becomes a part of Muslim League.

1980 – 1981 – Sharif becomes the Finance Minister 4 years later and joins the advisory board under Zia.

1985 – Sharif is made the Chief Minister of Punjab.

1988 – 1990 – ML is divided into two assemblages; Sharif takes charge of the Fida group, officially making it PML. Two years later, Nawaz Sharif becomes the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

1992 – An operation is launched in Karachi called “Clean up!”

1993 – Sharif resigns from his position and concedes defeat.

1994-95 – Sharif joins forces with Murtaza Bhutto and launches a protest against Benazir Bhutto.

1997 – PMLN emerges victorious in the elections making Sharif the Prime Minister of the country for the second time.

1998 – 99 – Nuclear tests are ordered by Sharif to counter Indian protests. The following year Jehangir Karamat is terminated from his position as the Chief of Army Staff replaced by Musharraf. The same year, Musharraf is also dismissed; however, he declares open rebellion forcing Sharif to step down as PM once again. The revolution leads to Sharif being exiled to Saudi Arabia with the possibility of life imprisonment.

2000 – Sharif continues exile for 7 years.

2007 – Sharif returns to Pakistan.

2008 – Noon League wins more than 60 seats and declares allegiance with PPP. The same year, the alliance of he two parties is disregarded once judges are replaced by Musharraf.

2009 – Sharif is cleared of his charges from 2000 and is allowed public office.

2013 – Sharif becomes prime minister for the third time.

2014 – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf conducts mass protests as Sharif declares retention of his position as PM.

2015 – Panama Papers are released, claiming Sharif and family to own possessions overseas.

2017 – Sharif is disqualified from office once more, albeit temporarily, as an in-depth interrogation of Panama case commences.

April 2018 – Sharif is disqualified lastingly.

6th July 2018 – Jury declares the verdict on Panama case sentencing him to 10 years in prison. Maryam Nawaz follows with 7 years and with a hefty fine of 11 million pounds collectively.

13th July 2018 – Nawaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz set to return to Pakistan to surrender to their arrest leading to countrywide rallies and political unrest as other parties scout for votes.

Several PML-N supports have gathered at Narowal where police forces have denied them entrance to Lahore. Several individuals are being arrested and their vehicles sealed to ensure no hindrance is experienced when arresting the Sharif family members.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *