The National Assembly on Tuesday approved three bills regarding the tenure of the services chiefs — chief of army staff, chief of air staff and chief of naval staff — and the chairman of the joint chief of staff committee.

Ahead of the session, Prime Minister Imran Khan arrived at the NA.

As the session began, Defence Minister Pervez Khattak requested the PPP to take back their recommendations regarding amendments to the Pakistan Army (Amendment) Bill 2020. Subsequently, taking the floor, PPP MNA Naveed Qamar took back the recommendations.

Meanwhile, religious party members including Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Jamaat-i-Islami walked out of the NA declaring the lower house to be “fake”.

A meeting of the PML-N parliamentary group was also held. Meanwhile, a government delegation met with PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari in his chamber.

The three bills are the Pakistan Army (Amendment) Bill 2020, the Pakistan Air Force (Amendment) Bill 2020 and the Pakistan Navy (Amendment) Bill 2020.

A day earlier, the National Assembly’s standing committee on defence unanimously approved the bills during an in-camera session, which indicates that the bills are likely to smoothly sail through the lower house.