The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

Opener Tamim Iqbal returns after skipping a home series against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe and a tour in India. Mosaddek Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam and Abu Hider have been dropped from the squad.

Wicketkeeper and batsman Mushfiqur Rahim has declined to visit Pakistan for the forthcoming series on account of security concerns.

The entire Bangladesh lineup includes:

Mahmudullah (captain)

Tamim Iqbal

Soumya Sarkar

Naim Sheikh,

Najmul Hossain Shanto

Liton Kumer Das

MD Mithun

Afif Hossain Dhrubo

Mahedi Hasan

Aminul Islam Biplob

Mustafizur Rahman

Shafiul Islam

Al-Amin Hossain

Rubel Hossain

Hasan Mahmud

Why are Bangladesh players reluctant to play in Pakistan?

Sadly, the answer to that is security. Players and their family feel reluctant coming to Pakistan due to security issues. Pakistan has had security mishaps in the past and though the situation has increasingly improved, the stigma attached to Pakistan’s security will take some time to wash out.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *