Pakistan women’s cricket team began their journey at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup on Wednesday with a splendid eight-wicket win over the West Indies in Canberra.

Faced with a target of 125 runs, Pakistan finished with a score of 127-2 with 10 balls to spare. 2016 champions West Indies won the toss and chose to bat, but slumped to 44 for three off the first 10 overs. Stafanie Taylor (43) and fellow veteran Shemaine Campbelle (43) came to the rescue — almost tripling the score off the last 10 for a defendable 124 for seven. In reply, a 58-run opening stand between Javeria Khan (35) and Muneeba Ali (25) set Pakistan on their way, with skipper Bismah Maroof, in her 107th T20, seeing them home with an unbeaten 38.


Pakistan XI: Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Bismah Maroof (capt), Nida Dar, Umaima Sohail, Iram Javed, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Aiman Anwer, Diana Baig, Anam Amin.

West Indies XI: Hayley Matthews, Lee-Ann Kirby, Stafanie Taylor (capt), Deandra Dottin, Shemaine Campbelle (wk), Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry, Afy Fletcher, Anisa Mohammed, Shakera Selman, Shamilia Connell.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *