Turkey has halted flights with nine European countries, including France, Germany and Spain.

“From 8:00 am (0500 GMT) tomorrow, Saturday, flights will be stopped until April 17 to Germany, France, Spain, Norway, Denmark, Belgium, Austria, Sweden and the Netherlands,” Transport and Infrastructure Minister Mehmet Cahit Turhan told reporters in Ankara.

There is already a ban on flight connections with China, Iran, Iraq, Italy and South Korea, countries that have the higher rates of coronavirus cases.

Health Minister Fahrettin Koca said the number of COVID-19 cases rose to five, all linked to the first case of a man who returned from Europe.

Turkey has already ordered schools to close for two weeks from Monday and universities to take a three-week holiday.

Sporting events will take place without spectators until the end of April.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *